Who We Are

temp image


Governors make a highly significant contribution to the work and direction of the school.

They have high levels of insight, are extremely well organised and thorough in their approach.  They are vigorous in ensuring that all pupils and staff are safe.  In discharging their statutory responsibilities, they have highly robust systems for evaluating the effectiveness of their implementation, keeping the work of the school under review and acting upon their findings.

Governors are innovative, flexible and adapt to new ideas quickly, supporting the work of the staff in improving outcomes for all pupils. They are confident in providing high levels of professional challenge to hold the school to account. Our Governors engage very effectively with parents, pupils and the staff as a whole and are well informed about user’s views of the school.  They use these views to inform strategic priorities for development.

Latest News

Chair of Governors Letter January 2019

Chair of Governors Letter November 2018

Governors Annual Statement 2017-2018


Baydon St Nicholas School: Governing Body Portfolios

All governors attend the Full Governing Body meetings but also hold a portfolio of responsibilities. We do most of our work through the committees but are also responsible for working with the Headteacher on the School Vision and the School Development plan.  Part of the support and challenge we offer to staff is monitoring the schools progress against that plan.

NameResponsibilitiesType (and who elected by)Term of Office Start and End DateCommittee Membership
Peter JoddrellChair of Governors
Chair of Quality of Education
Local Authority
18/07/18 to 17/7/22Quality of Education
Caroline KnightonHeadteacher (Ex officio)01/09/16 to no end dateAttends all
Barbara FurberFoundation
25/02/19 to 24/02/23Quality of Education
Revd Beth HuttonFoundation
01/02/2021 to no end date
Dr Katie MillsSafeguarding GovernorFoundation
18/09/19 to 17/09/23
Ben HughesFoundation
01/10/2020 to 30/09/2024 Finance
Rowan CockcroftFoundation
24/01/20 to 23/01/24Finance
Emma GilbertStaff Governor
16/10/19 to 16/10/23Quality of Education
Buildings and Maintenance
Fraza RobinsVice Chair of Governors
08/10/19 to 07/10/23Buildings and Maintenance
Jess JeffersParents
05/05/20 to 04/05/2024
Paul StannardChair of Buildings and MaintenanceParents
30/11/17 to 25/03/2020Buildings and Maintenance
Susan HarrisAssociate Governor01/02/19 to 31/01/23
Laura HallsworthChair of FinanceAssociate Governor24/09/15 to 23/09/19
23/09/19 to 31/8/2021


  • Quality of Education: Peter Jodrell (chair), Barbara Furber, Caroline Knighton, Emma Gilbert, Nikki Davies
  • Finance: Laura Hallsworth (chair) Caroline Knighton, Rowan Cockcroft
  • Buildings: Paul Stannard (chair) Caroline Knighton, Emma Gilbert, Fraza Robins

Specific Roles Held on Governing Body 2020-2021

  • Chair 2020/2021: Peter Jodrell (contact via the school office)
  • Vice Chair: Fraza Robins
  • Safeguarding Governor: Dr Katie Mills

As required through the year:

Pay Committee:  Barbara Furber (chair), Peter Jodrell

Pay Appeals Committee: as required from list, including associate governors.

Admissions: Caroline Knighton, Barbara Furber

Head Teachers Performance Management Panel:   Peter Jodrell

Governors are required to publish information online relating to business interests and attendance as well as the information included above. To view the information please see below.

NameBusiness or Other InterestsAttendance at FGB 2019-2020Attendance at Committees 2019-2020
Peter JoddrellNone5/5QoE-4/4
Nikki DaviesNone5/5QoE-4/4
Barbara FurberNone4/5QoE-4/4
Emma GilbertNone5/5B&M-3/4
Laura HallsworthNoneN/AF-6/6
Sue HarriesNoneN/A
Caroline KnightonNone5/5QoE - 4/4, F-6/6, B&M - 4/4
Paul StannardNone3/5B&M - 3/4
Amanda HodeyNone1/1
Hugo Mackenzie-SmithNone5/5F-1/2
Katie MillsNone5/5
Rowan CockcroftNone3/3F-3/3
Fraza RobinsNone4/4B&M-3/4
Karen RizzelloNone3/3
Tony ToppNoneN/A